The Most Scrumptious Creamy Tahini Dressing!

I am not exaggerating when I say that we go through a jar of tahini every. single. week. here at the Elkins mansion. It is one of my best and most FAVOURITE things (to eat) in the world!

tahini

I put it on sprouted toast with turmeric and salt, I add it to smoothies, I put lashings of it over miso spread on rice cakes, I dip figs and banana into it, I put dollops of it on pancakes, pizza, salad… You name it, I’ve probably put tahini on it.

Tahini is made from ground sesame seeds, and you can buy it in either hulled or unhulled varieties (or make it from scratch pretty easily if you have the right gear!). Some say hulled tahini is easier to digest while others believe that unhulled tahini is better for you because it makes use of the whole sesame seed and, thus, ensures you get ALL of the goodness available. I switch it up a bit and share the tahini love. And there is plenty of love to be had! Tahini is high in calcium, protein, healthy fats, vitamins E, B1, B2, B3, B5 and B15, as well as minerals such as magnesium, potassium, iron, and phosphorus. Tahini is also one of the greatest sauces of methionine – an essential amino acid that aids in liver detoxification. So many good things packed into one truly yummy plant-based food!

The creamy, dreamy, delectable dressing I am about to share with you is adapted from Jess Cox’s dairy free, nut free tahini ‘cheesy’ sauce recipe, which I first tried a while back over my Turkish Veggie Pizza! Guys, it is sooo yummy – I have been known to eat it by the spoonful. And, in all honesty, Al and I have had a genuine argument over it before. Shivers.

Ingredients:

2 heaped tbsp tahini (I usually use hulled for this recipe)
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
3 tbsp water
1 tbsp olive oil
1 heaped tsp savory yeast flakes
A good pinch salt

Instructions:

Stir all ingredients together until smooth and creamy! Don’t be freaked out if it looks like it’s separating at first – just stick with it and add more water if too thick/more tahini if too thin.

Enjoy precious ones xxx

2 thoughts on “The Most Scrumptious Creamy Tahini Dressing!

Leave a Reply

