Flourless Two Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

I have a problem. My sweet tooth is arguably the worst case the world has ever seen…

Thus, after quitting sugar, I had to become somewhat creative in the sweets department. There have been some mishaps. Epic fails some might say. But this chocolate mug cake is most assuredly not one of them!!! It is, in fact, up there with my most favourite recipes! It’s quick, easy and delicious – and fills my gigantic dessert void – while being healthy nuff for breakfast!

They make a regular appearance on my table, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I have (many, many, many, many, many times).

Ingredients:

2 tbsp almond meal
2 tbsp raw cacao
1 tbsp dessicated coconut
2 tbsp rice malt syrup
1 egg
A sprinkling of cinnamon
A smidge of vanilla – powder or extract
A pinch of salt (I use Himalayan cause it’s the bomb)

Instructions:

Put all ingredients together in a decent sized mug and stir until well combined. Microwave for two minutes and then DEVOUR! Preferably with double dollop cream. I go through far too many containers of this stuff on a weekly basis… But, in my defense, cream and butter are among the easiest dairy products for us to digest! Make sure it’s full cream though, because most of the skim/no fat products are lower in nutrients AND they have had sugar added to them in place of fat.

I have also been known to make these mug cakes into parfaits for breakfast! You just scoop the cake from the mug, slice it into three and place slices in a glass between layers of yoghurt and blueberries. Seriously yummy!

If you’re making two mug cakes at once, I have found that microwaving them together works fine, but you’ll need to up the time to three minutes!

4 thoughts on “Flourless Two Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

  1. Hey Courtney! This sounds amazing – just a question where do you buy the rice malt syrup?? Or is there something I can substitute? Xx

  2. Hi Kiri! I buy mine from the health food section at Coles, but to try the recipe out you could use honey! I don’t use honey a whole lot for sweetening because it’s high in fructose. Let me know how you go! x

Leave a Reply

