Turkish Veggie Pizza

This pizza is a midweek FAVOURITE! And, for reasons I will explain in another post, I have been cutting down on my dairy and meat intake, so… it’s also vegan.

photo (6)

Now, before you opt out (because you think anything without cheese is weird and gross – like me), please listen when I say that this recipe is delicious! And if I can convince my ‘normal-food-loving’ mama Debbie to try it, I can (hopefully) convince you.

As well as being super tastyyyyyyy, this pizza is simple, easy, quick and cheap (but then I do have a killer husband growing killer veg in our killer garden). I make a big batch of roast sweet potato or pumpkin bits at the beginning of pretty much every week, and as well as being great to toss through salads for lunch to hearty them up, they’re great to have on hand for this pizza. Gives it a little hit of sweetness. But, as well as the sweet potato or pumpkin chunks (whatever most tickles your fancy), I also chop up 1 red capsicum, 1 eggplant, 1 zucchini and 1 red onion and stir fry till slightly softened with a dollop of coconut oil and a shake of turmeric, paprika, ground cumin and coriander.

Natureen stone ground spelt wheat wraps make fantastic pizza bases, and they keep well in the freezer to grab out and devour at a moments notice! I get mine from the local organic store… I’m a cheat! And totally fine with it. But, of course, you can always make you’re own if you’re that impressive and organized.

So, you need to preheat your oven to 240 degrees WITH a pizza stone inside to get nice and hot too (or a regular pan if that’s what you’ve got on hand). You then grab a base, dollop on some pizza sauce (I make my own sugar free version but there are also pretty decent alternatives available at the supermarket) and shake over some nutritional yeast flakes – great source of vitamin B AND a wonderful alternative to cheese. Scatter your stir fried turkish veggies and sweet potato or pumpkin chunks over the top with a small handful of halved pitted kalamata olives and then (bum bum buuuuummmmm – secret weapon) drizzle over A WHOLE LOT of ‘cheesy tahini dressing’ – recipe courtesy of Jessica Cox nutritionist. Mix together 2 generous heaped tbsp tahini, the juice of half a lemon, 1 tbsp olive oil and a scant 1/4 cup of water till creamy and awesome. I also add a shake of yeast flakes and a pinch of Himalayan salt.

Slide this masterpiece into your hot oven and bake for 7 minutes, then slice and enjoy with a glass of wine. My accompaniment tonight (and a personal special) is Andrew Garrett’s sparkling shiraz. Booyeah.

2 thoughts on “Turkish Veggie Pizza

  1. Hi Courts,
    Laura told me about your blog. It’s wonderful, very refreshing and vibrant, just like you!
    All the best with it!
    Love Louise

    • Thanks Louise!
      I’m so glad you like it 🙂
      I’m really enjoying putting it together. It’s especially nice to have somewhere to point my friends when they ask for one of my recipes! Slowly but surely adding all my favs to the blog.
      Looking forward to seeing you guys in April,
      Love Courts xxx

Leave a Reply

